Music for the Soul: Namoli Brennet

Promotion2006_Sm

Last weekend, I hauled my lazy self down to La Crosse, Wisconsin to see Namoli Brennet perform.  She’s a folk/folk rock musician from Tucson, Arizona and she’s a trans woman. She’s amazingly talented. She writes, produces, and mixes own her music, plays multiple instruments, and generally kicks ass. Her songs take you out of your own world and place you into the life of another person while telling you a story from that character’s perspective. Soulful, wonderful, stuff. Last, but not least, she’s an Out Music Award winner. I highly recommend her.

Finding her music was a godsend for me. It was during a time in my life when I was working through a lot of internalized transphobia. Seeing an incredibly talented trans person, up on stage, being herself was just what I needed.

Anyway, it was great to see her perform again. It was nice to hang out with her and chat for a bit before the show. The cafe was small and intimate and La Crosse is a really cute town. If you ever find yourself driving along the Mississippi in southern Wisconsin, stop by for a looksee.

Namoli Brennet’s websites:
Main Webpage
Myspace

~ by timberwraith on June 27, 2009.

 
