House Rules Update and Trans 101

I’ve moved the House Rules to this location.  I also modified the last rule (#8) to say:

While I often assume the role of providing information on transgender issues, ultimately, it is not my job to educate you. If it looks as though you are bogging down the flow of a comment thread with basic “Trans 101” concerns, I may choose to ban your participation in that thread. You have plenty of options in finding this information via other sources. Read through my old posts. Follow the various links in the sidebar and read the information available on those blogs and webpages. The more you read, the more you will learn. Also, Whipping Girl by Julia Serano is an excellent primer on transgender issues, albeit from a trans woman’s perspective. I don’t agree with everything she says, but reading her book will provide an excellent start. Last but not least, Google is your friend.

OK, that may have sounded a bit snotty, but it’s not meant to.  You see, there’s a small number of trans folk who are openly discussing these issues with the rest of the world, and to put it bluntly, there are many more of you than there are of us.  We are faced with the same common questions, concerns and observations from cis people over and over again.  It gets old after a while, especially when dealing with the more obnoxious comments and tropes that come up in this context.  Please don’t be offended when one of us sighs and says, “I’m finished discussing these issues with you.  Before you return to this thread, you need to educate yourself.”  You may not realize you are being offensive, but chances are, you have said something annoying that has been heard a thousand times before.  The best thing you can do at that point is quietly extract yourself from the conversation and sequester yourself with a bunch of reading material.

In an effort to address people’s information gap, I’ve started a “Trans 101” section in the links on my sidebar.  I’ll be adding on to it as time progresses.  Also, there is an extensive Trans 101 links section in the sidebar of Questioning Transphobia.  I highly reccomend it.

~ by timberwraith on June 26, 2009.

 
